IJNKOWIDGOH | Chapter 1 – Hello, Different World

Hello! I’m picking up this story simply because I got interested. Please pardon if it is lacking in any way as this is my first attempt at a formal translation. It’s from MTL, but I cleaned it up as much as I can so that it will make sense. Also, I may not be regularly posting, so if there is a translator out there who is serious with picking this story up, I’d be glad to hand this over. Just send me a message.

I hope you still find this story fun and interesting.


“There is such a thing!”

 I was standing in the forest now.

 A fantasy townscape looks quite small up ahead, and if you look up at the sky, you will see two moons. Then, if you look back…

“There is a Japanese-style room where grandma’s altar is placed.”

 I took a deep breath to calm myself down.

“Calm down, Amata Shirou… First, let’s organize the situation.”

 I retired from a black company at the end of last month, and today I moved to a house left by my grandma.

 After cleaning, the mover carried in the luggage. When I started unpacking, I opened the closet of the Japanese-style room where grandma’s Buddhist altar (which was there from the beginning) was placed—

“It’s connected to a fantasy world, huh. I don’t understand… What a strange phenomenon this is. Am I tired?”

 I went back to the Japanese room and closed the door of the closet. I brewed strong coffee in the kitchen, rested for about ten minutes, and then tried opening the closet again.

“I’m really fantasizing, after all~”

 It seemed to be not an illusion. Tonight is a full moon, and the two moon shone brightly. I closed the closet again and lit an incense stick on grandma’s altar.

“Did you know about this, grandma?”

 Of course, I didn’t get an answer. In grandma’s funeral photo, she just showed a double-peace pose with a silly face.

 Grandma went missing three years ago. A year ago, she was finally certified dead. It was very hard at that time, but now the whole family has accepted grandma’s death.

“Shirou… I’ll tell you grandma’s secret someday.” Grandma, who said so, died without telling the “secret”.

“By the way, the secret that grandma wanted to tell me was this closet, was it?”

 As I was immersed in my memories of grandma, I found a letter behind the altar.

“Hmm? Is this a letter?”

 I picked up the letter and saw that the word “To Family” was there.

“No way… Grandma’s will!”

 I broke the seal and spread the letter.

“This is grandma’s handwriting. What is —-……”

 Grandma’s letter said at the beginning, “What’s going to happen in this road?”. It listed six main points.

 1. The closet is connected to a different world than the earth.

 2. In another world, the civilization level is low, and “magic” and “skill” exist instead.

 3. There is the presence of dangerous monsters there that don’t exist on earth.

 4. There are many races other than humans who can communicate with each other.

 5. The “Magic Ring” that can understand the language of the other world is included with the letter.

 6. Books of the Other World are hidden behind the altar, so please read it after putting on the ring.

 The above is written, and the letter closed with the words, “Don’t hesitate. If you go, you will understand.”

“Grandma…”

 As written in the letter, there was a silver ring inside the envelope. If you look closely, it looks like it was shining lightly. Then, I peered at the back of the altar…

“Books…?”

 There were certainly two books. Because it was written in a mysterious language, I can’t read the title, let alone the pages. If what’s written in the letter is true, you can understand this mysterious language by wearing the ring…

 I attached the ring to the index finger of my left hand, and the result is–

“……Equivalent Exchange Book……A Space Storage Book?”

 The title of the books that I couldn’t read before became really readable. The Equivalent Exchange Book was thin, with only 30 pages. The Space Storage Book has about 10 pages.

 The content was something I couldn’t understand even when I read it, but after reading,

[Skill 『Equivalent Exchange』acquired.]

 A voice echoed in my head.

“Who’s that?!”

 I look around the room, but I can only see grandma’s funeral photo, with her showing the double-peace pose, on the altar.

 What’s this? It’s really fantasy.

“Hmm. I’m not sure, but I think I’ve acquired the skill of『Equivalent Exchange』? It’s kind of like a light novel or a game.”

 I continued reading the book on space storage.

[Skill 『Space Storage』acquired.]

 Another voice echoed.

“It seems like it’s a voice you can hear every time you get a skill.”

 Well then, what should I do with the『Equivalent Exchange』 , 『Space Storage』, and the ring that understands the language of another world?

 I had just retired from a black company, and I was extremely idle. At black companies, they use people so hard to the point that they are wasting lives.

 I had originally planned to get unemployment insurance. I was going to live a lazy life during the pay period, but… in front of me―or rather, it seems that a “different world” is spreading in my home closet.

“Don’t hesitate. If you go, you will understand.”

 Grandma’s will that’s written in a letter.

 I folded my arms.

“…What should I do?”

 I muttered.

Table of Contents | Next Chapter

Published by The Reader's List Podcast

Reader | Podcaster | Author

3 thoughts on “IJNKOWIDGOH | Chapter 1 – Hello, Different World

  1. Thanks for the chapter! I’m coming here straight from the manga ch1, lol, I like when you can have both editions side by side, you see more with the manga, while the novel gives you more details, both are fun! I’m glad you picked up this story, seems fun, I hope you or some other kind soul will keep translating it.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started